About Me

Avatar Picture by Reverent GeekI describe myself as “the solver of problems”. Because it seems like that is what I do most. I am going to try to use this space to describe who I am and what I do.

 

Who Am I?

Well, I am a happily married to my wonderful wife Kaylea (Believe me she puts up with a lot). I am also a father of a minion wildebeest little boy teenager, who just happens to be “on the spectrum” which is code for Autism Spectrum Disorder or in his case Asperger’s Syndrome. This makes us rather big activists for Autism research and educational adaptations.

My son, much younger.
My son, much younger.

What do I do professionally?

This is an interesting question. Technically my job title, at my full-time job, is Software Developer. But what do I really do? Well this is where I say I am “a solver of problems”. I solve people’s problems with technology. Some days that means writing code (my favorite), and some days that means helping other developers solve their problems. But, I also do more than just my full-time job.

I also hold the title “Adjunct Professor”. I teach technology, specifically programming classes at the Community College of Allegheny County. This is something people have told me I have a real passion for, and it is something I really enjoy.

Finally, I also do some consulting here and there. I am very selective about the projects I take on and only take on one or two small or medium-sized projects at a time. My current and past projects include construction time keeping and material tracking, Microsoft SQL Database design and scripting for a church membership management software, web application development for a searchable music library, soccer registration WordPress Plugin, WordPress Theme design and Site Setup, and even Linux server setup and administration, along with a variety of small custom PHP web applications for data reporting and content management.

Wait you’re a computer guy, what technology do you work with?

Here is a small list of the technology and languages I have worked with:

  • Windows
  • Mac
  • Linux
  • iOS Devices
  • Android Devices
  • .Net Languages
  • PHP
  • WordPress
  • CSS
  • .Net Web Services
  • Small Office/Home Networking

What I like to do in my free time?

I spend most of my free time spending time with my friends and family, cooking, or tinkering with my technology. In the summer I spend most of my weekends with my family at our local water park. I like to cook and bake and even learned a little bit of cake decorating, though I I am not very good at it since I can’t seem to draw a straight line. There are even a few TV shows I watch religously, mostly around Star Trek.

That is about it for me. If we are real life friends you can find me on Facebook. I don’t post much, but I do enjoy reading what is going on. I am also over on Twitter, but again I usually just re-tweet things I enjoy reading, mostly about programming.